Senior Thesis Prizes were presented as the Department of Economics celebrated Class Day on Monday, June 5, 2017. View the list of winners and photos below.

Wolf Balleisen Memorial Prize: The best thesis on an economics subject, written by an economics major.
Winner: René Emmanuel Chalom (Advisor: William Hanlon)

John Glover Wilson Memorial Award: The best thesis on international economics or politics.
Winners: Andrew Harrington Tynes (Advisor: Atif Mian) and
Haryuni Sumawijaya (Advisor: Iqbal Zaidi)

Walter C. Sauer ’28 Prize (joint eligibility with Politics, WWS). Prize awarded annually to the student whose thesis or research project on any aspect of United States foreign trade is judged to be the most creative.
Winner: Aslihan Asil (Advisor: Swati Bhatt)

Daniel L. Rubinfeld ’67 Prize in Empirical Economics: Awarded annually for the best thesis in empirical economics.
Winners: Yuntao Zeng (Advisor: Iqbal Zaidi) and
Amy Haoshu Hua (Advisor: Chris Sims)

Senior Thesis Prize in Economics: Awarded annually for the best thesis in health, education or welfare.
Winner: Amarachukwu Beatrice Nnaeto (Advisor: Maria Rosales-Rueda)

Burton G. Malkiel *64 Senior Thesis Prize in Finance: Awarded annually for the most outstanding thesis in the field of finance.
Winners: Daniel Timothy Chen (Advisor: Motohiro Yogo) and
Benjamin Zhang (Advisor: Stephen Morris)

Halbert White ’72 Prize in Economics: Awarded annually to the most outstanding senior economics major, as evidenced by excellence in departmental coursework, and creativity in the junior papers and senior thesis.
Winners: Aslihan Asil and
Daniel Timothy Chen