News 2016-10-17T09:47:50+00:00

Thomas C. Leonard’s “Illiberal Reformers” Wins Joseph J. Spengler Best Book Prize

“llliberal Reformers: Race, Eugenics & American Economics in the Progressive Era,” is the Winner of the 2017 Joseph J. Spengler Best Book Prize, awarded by the History of Economics Society. In 2004 the Society established the Joseph J. Spengler Prize for the best book in the history of economics.

Mark Watson wins Richard E. Quandt Prize

Mark Watson is the winner of this year’s Richard E. Quandt Prize which is awarded annually to an outstanding undergraduate teacher of economics. The prize is named after Professor Richard Quandt, who was on the faculty from 1956 to 1995, was twice chair of the department, and who is now an emeritus professor and senior advisor to the Andrew Mellon Foundation. (more…)